Ministry of Health & Family Welfare
About Codex
Codex Meetings
FAO/WHO Expert Committees & Consultations
Key Issues
National Codex Contact Point (India)
National Codex Committee
Shadow Committees of the National Codex Committee
Who's Who
Working Procedures for Codex India
What's New
Relevant Sites

Regional Coordinating Committees

Regional Coordinating Committees exercise general coordination in the preparation of standards relating to such regions or groups of countries and such other functions as may be entrusted to them.

There are six Coordinating Committees, i.e. one each for the following regions:
  • Africa
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Near East
  • North America and Southwest Pacific

Coordinating Committees play an invaluable role in ensuring that the work of the Commission is responsive to regional interests and to the concerns of developing countries.

Membership is open to all Member Nations and associate members of FAO and/or WHO, who are members of Codex Alimentarius Commission, within the concerned geographical region

They have no standing host countries. Meetings are hosted by countries of a region on an ad hoc basis and in agreement with the Commission.

Coordinating Committee for Asia (CCASIA)
Terms of Reference

  • to define the problems and needs of the Asian region concerning food standards and food control;
  • to promote within the Committee contacts for the mutual exchange of information on proposed regulatory initiatives and problems arising from food control and stimulates the strengthening of food control infrastructures;
  • to recommend to the Commission the development of world wide standards for products of interest to the region, including products considered by the Committee to have an international market potential in the future;
  • to develop regional standards for food products moving exclusively or almost exclusively in intra regional trade;
  • to draw the attention of the Commission to any aspects of the Commission’s work of particular significance to the region;
  • to promote coordination of all regional food standards work undertaken by international governmental and non-governmental organizations within the region;
  • to exercise a general coordinating role for the region and such other functions as may be entrusted to it by the Commission; and,
  • to promote the acceptance of Codex standards and maximum limits for residues by member countries.

Host government rotates among the committee members. Presently, Japan is the host country and Coordinator for CCASIA.

Codex Members in the Asian Region:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam